East Asia & Pacific / PYF
French Polynesia

ⓘ
2021 Factbook flag mirror; image identity has not been individually audited. Source.
Last updated: October 29, 2026

Map image could not be loaded. Open source image.
ⓘ
CIA World Factbook map, February 2021 media edition. Identity reviewed; current boundaries have not been audited. visual contact sheet or original identity check; does not verify current boundaries Boundaries, place names and designations may be dated or disputed; original annotations retained. SHA-256: 7879803b928ed4fdb9be2805e8c0481685b36b06c40349be6755239157fb6d2e. Provenance and inspection record.ⓘ
World Bank directory coordinates; approximate location, not a country center. Coordinate reference date is not supplied by the directory. Natural Earth 1:110m land (2022 source); simplified coastline, no political borders. Map source. Land SVG SHA-256: CF26056A39DC0A5B02F65704E279DFA86E77539A8387D0B2C92F907A67739E5E.Introduction
Background:1
French Polynesia consists of five archipelagos -- the Austral Islands, the Gambier Islands, the Marquesas Islands, the Society Islands, and the Tuamotu Archipelago. The Marquesas were first settled around 200 B.C. and the Society Islands around A.D. 300. Raiatea in the Society Islands became a center for religion and culture. Exploration of the other islands emanated from Raiatea, and by 1000, there were small permanent settlements in all the island groups. Ferdinand MAGELLAN was the first European to see the islands of French Polynesia in 1520. In 1767, British explorer Samuel WALLIS was the first European to visit Tahiti, followed by French navigator Louis Antoine de BOUGAINVILLE in 1768 and British explorer James COOK in 1769. King POMARE I united Tahiti and surrounding islands into the Kingdom of Tahiti in 1788. Protestant missionaries arrived in 1797, and POMARE I’s successor converted in the 1810s, along with most Tahitians. In the 1830s, Queen POMARE IV refused to allow French Catholic missionaries to operate, leading France to declare a protectorate over Tahiti and fight the French-Tahitian War of the 1840s in an attempt to annex the islands.
In 1880, King POMARE V ceded Tahiti and its possessions to France, changing its status into a colony. France then claimed the Gambier Islands and Tuamotu Archipelago and by 1901 had incorporated all five island groups into its establishments in Oceania. A Tahitian nationalist movement formed in 1940, leading France to grant French citizenship to the islanders in 1946 and change it to an overseas territory. In 1957, the islands’ name was changed to French Polynesia, and the following year, 64% of voters chose to stay part of France when they approved a new constitution. Uninhabited Mururoa Atoll was established as a French nuclear test site in 1962, and tests were conducted between 1966 and 1992 (underground beginning in 1975). France also conducted tests at Fangataufa Atoll, including its last nuclear test in 1996.
France granted French Polynesia partial internal autonomy in 1977 and expanded autonomy in 1984. French Polynesia was converted into an overseas collectivity in 2003 and renamed an overseas territory in 2004. Pro-independence politicians won a surprise majority in local elections that same year, but in subsequent elections, they have been relegated to a vocal minority. In 2013, French Polynesia was relisted on the UN List of Non-Self-Governing Territories.
Geography
Location:2
Oceania, five archipelagoes (Archipel des Tuamotu, Iles Gambier, Iles Marquises, Iles Tubuai, Society Islands) in the South Pacific Ocean about halfway between South America and Australia
Geographic coordinates:3
15 00 S, 140 00 W
Map references:4
Oceania
Area:5
Area - comparative:6
slightly less than one-third the size of Connecticut
Land boundaries:7
Coastline:8
2,525 km
Maritime claims:9
Climate:10
tropical, but moderate
Terrain:11
mixture of rugged high islands and low islands with reefs
Elevation:12
Natural resources:13
timber, fish, cobalt, hydropower
Land use:14
Irrigated land:15
10 sq km (2012)
Population distribution:16
the majority of the population lives in the Society Islands, one of five archipelagos that includes the most populous island, Tahiti, with approximately 70% of the nation's population
Natural hazards:17
occasional cyclonic storms in January
Geography - note:18
includes five archipelagoes: four volcanic (Iles Gambier, Iles Marquises, Iles Tubuai, Society Islands) and one coral (Archipel des Tuamotu); the Tuamotu Archipelago forms the largest group of atolls in the world -- 78 in total, 48 inhabited; Makatea in the Tuamotu Archipelago is one of the three great phosphate rock islands in the Pacific Ocean -- the others are Banaba (Ocean Island) in Kiribati and Nauru
People and Society
Population:19
Population: 282,465 people (2025)
Nationality:21
Ethnic groups:22
Polynesian 78%, Chinese 12%, local French 6%, metropolitan French 4%
Languages:23
French (official) 73.5%, Tahitian 20.1%, Marquesan 2.6%, Austral languages 1.2%, Paumotu 1%, other 1.6% (2017 est.)
Religions:24
Protestant 54%, Roman Catholic 30%, other 10%, no religion 6%
Age structure:25
Dependency ratios:26
Median age:27
Population growth rate:28
Population growth rate: 0.23 % annually (2025)
0.66% (2024 est.)
Birth rate:30
Crude birth rate: 10.69 births per 1,000 people (2024)
13 births/1,000 population (2024 est.)
Death rate:32
Crude death rate: 3.81 deaths per 1,000 people (2024)
5.8 deaths/1,000 population (2024 est.)
Net migration rate:34
-0.6 migrant(s)/1,000 population (2024 est.)
Population distribution:35
the majority of the population lives in the Society Islands, one of five archipelagos that includes the most populous island, Tahiti, with approximately 70% of the nation's population
Urbanization:36
Urban population: 61.76 % of population (2025)
Major urban areas - population:38
136,000 PAPEETE (capital) (2018)
Sex ratio:39
Infant mortality rate:40
Life expectancy at birth:41
Life expectancy at birth: 84.19 years (2024)
Total fertility rate:43
Total fertility rate: 1.49 births per woman (2024)
1.79 children born/woman (2024 est.)
Gross reproduction rate:45
0.87 (2024 est.)
Drinking water source:46
At least basic drinking water services: 100 % of population (2024)
Physician density:48
0.02 physicians/1,000 population (2023)
Sanitation facility access:49
At least basic sanitation services: 97.51 % of population (2024)
Currently married women (ages 15-49):51
27.2% (2023 est.)
Environment
Environmental issues:52
sea-level rise; cyclones, storms, and tsunamis producing floods, landslides, erosion, and reef damage; droughts; fresh water scarcity
Climate:53
tropical, but moderate
Land use:54
Urbanization:55
Carbon dioxide emissions:56
Waste and recycling:57
Government
Country name:58
Government type:59
parliamentary democracy (Assembly of French Polynesia); an overseas collectivity of France
Dependency status:60
overseas country of France
Capital:61
Administrative divisions:62
5 administrative subdivisions ( subdivisions administratives , singular - subdivision administrative ): Iles Australes (Austral Islands), Iles du Vent (Windward Islands), Iles Marquises (Marquesas Islands), Iles Sous-le-Vent (Leeward Islands), Iles Tuamotu-Gambier
Legal system:63
the laws of France apply
Constitution:64
Citizenship:65
see France
Suffrage:66
18 years of age; universal
Executive branch:67
Legislative branch:68
Judicial branch:69
Political parties:70
I Love Polynesia (A here la Porinetia)
List of the People (Tapura Huiraatira)
People's Servant Party (Tavini Huiraatira)
Rally of the Maohi People (Amuitahiraʻa o te Nunaʻa Maohi) (formerly known as Popular Rally (Tahoeraa Huiraatira))
Diplomatic representation in the US:71
none (overseas lands of France)
Diplomatic representation from the US:72
International organization participation:73
ITUC (NGOs), PIF, SPC, UPU, WMO
Independence:74
none (overseas land of France)
National holiday:75
Fête de la Fédération, 14 July (1790)
Flag:76
National symbol(s):77
outrigger canoe, Tahitian gardenia flower ( Gardenia taitensis )
National color(s):78
red, white
National anthem(s):79
National heritage:80
Government - note:81
French Polynesia has acquired autonomy from France in all areas except those relating to police, monetary policy, tertiary education, immigration, and defense and foreign affairs; the duties of its president are similar to those of the French prime minister
Economy
Economic overview:82
small, territorial-island tourism-based economy; large French financing; lower EU import duties; Pacific Islands Forum member; fairly resilient from COVID-19; oil-dependent infrastructure
Real GDP (purchasing power parity):83
$6.007 billion (2024 est.)
$5.935 billion (2023 est.)
$5.892 billion (2022 est.)
Real GDP growth rate:84
3% (2023 est.)
4.5% (2022 est.)
2.1% (2021 est.)
Real GDP per capita:85
GDP (official exchange rate):86
GDP: 6,323,716,355.05 current US dollars (2024)
$6.563 billion (2024 est.)
Inflation rate (consumer prices):88
GDP - composition, by sector of origin:89
GDP - composition, by end use:90
Agricultural products:91
coconuts, fruits, cassava, sugarcane, pineapples, eggs, tropical fruits, watermelons, tomatoes, pork (2023)
Industries:92
tourism, pearls, agricultural processing, handicrafts, phosphates
Labor force:93
119,100 (2024 est.)
Unemployment rate:94
Youth unemployment rate (ages 15-24):95
Remittances:96
9.1% of GDP (2023 est.)
10% of GDP (2022 est.)
9.5% of GDP (2021 est.)
Current account balance:97
$411.963 million (2016 est.)
$291.182 million (2015 est.)
$264.32 million (2014 est.)
Exports:98
$162 million (2021 est.)
$94.4 million (2020 est.)
$184 million (2019 est.)
Exports - partners:99
Japan 44%, USA 15%, France 12%, Netherlands 9%, China 5% (2023)
Exports - commodities:100
pearls, fish, aircraft parts, gas turbines, vanilla (2023)
Imports:101
$1.66 billion (2021 est.)
$1.75 billion (2020 est.)
$2.24 billion (2019 est.)
Imports - partners:102
France 26%, China 11%, USA 10%, NZ 7%, Malaysia 4% (2023)
Imports - commodities:103
cars, packaged medicine, refined petroleum, poultry, broadcasting equipment (2023)
Exchange rates:104
110.306 (2024 est.)
110.347 (2023 est.)
113.474 (2022 est.)
100.88 (2021 est.)
104.711 (2020 est.)
Energy
Electricity access:105
Electricity:106
Electricity generation sources:107
Coal:108
Petroleum:109
Communications
Telephones - fixed lines:110
Telephones - mobile cellular:111
Broadcast media:112
French public overseas broadcaster Réseau Outre-Mer provides 2 TV channels and 1 radio station; 1 government-owned TV station; a small number of privately owned radio stations (2019)
Internet country code:113
.pf
Internet users:114
Broadband - fixed subscriptions:115
Transportation
Military and Security
Additional observations
- Real GDP growth122
- 1.13 % annual change (2024)
- Unemployment (modeled ILO estimate)123
- 11.66 % of labor force (2025)
- Access to electricity124
- 100 % of population (2024)
- Renewable energy share of total final energy consumption125
- 7 % (2022)
- Individuals using the internet126
- 72.7 % of population (2017)
- Physicians127
- 1.7 per 1,000 people (2000)
Notes & sources
- Background. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Location. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Geographic coordinates. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Map references. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Area. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Surface area: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; held. World Bank World Development Indicators. Held for review: 3,521 square kilometers (2024). Substantial difference from the historical archived total; geographic coverage and measurement definitions remain unresolved. The archive field does not state an observation year, so this does not establish a same-year conflict or numerical error. World Bank reported surface area: Observation year 2024; value 3521 square kilometers.. Historical archive total area: Archived total 4167 square kilometers; observation year not stated. Profile update time is not the field observation date.. The archived total area has no reference year and territorial coverage may differ from World Bank surface area. World Bank: 3,521 square kilometers (2024). Reference: 4,167 square kilometers. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Area - comparative. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Land boundaries. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Coastline. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Maritime claims. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Climate. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Terrain. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Elevation. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Natural resources. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Land use. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Irrigated land. Reference edition; observation: 2012. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Population distribution. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Natural hazards. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Geography - note. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Population. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Different reference years; no numerical agreement is asserted. World Bank: 282,465 people (2025). Reference: 303,540 people (2024). Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Population. Population: observation 2025; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Different reference years; no numerical agreement is asserted. World Bank: 282,465 people (2025). Reference: 303,540 people (2024). ↩
- Nationality. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Ethnic groups. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Languages. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Religions. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Age structure. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Dependency ratios. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Median age. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Population growth rate. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Population growth rate. Population growth rate: observation 2025; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Birth rate. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Crude birth rate. Crude birth rate: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Death rate. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Crude death rate. Crude death rate: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Net migration rate. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Population distribution. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Urbanization. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Urban population. Urban population: observation 2025; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Major urban areas - population. Reference edition; observation: 2018. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Sex ratio. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Infant mortality rate. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Life expectancy at birth. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Life expectancy at birth. Life expectancy at birth: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Total fertility rate. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Total fertility rate. Total fertility rate: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Gross reproduction rate. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Drinking water source. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- At least basic drinking water services. At least basic drinking water services: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. This separately sourced basic-service observation is shown alongside the reference edition’s improved/unimproved categories. It does not replace those category totals. ↩
- Physician density. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Sanitation facility access. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- At least basic sanitation services. At least basic sanitation services: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. This separately sourced basic-service observation is shown alongside the reference edition’s improved/unimproved categories. It does not replace those category totals. ↩
- Currently married women (ages 15-49). Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Environmental issues. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Climate. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Land use. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Urbanization. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Carbon dioxide emissions. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Waste and recycling. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Country name. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Government type. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Dependency status. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Capital. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Administrative divisions. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Legal system. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Constitution. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Citizenship. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Suffrage. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Executive branch. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Legislative branch. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Judicial branch. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Political parties. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Diplomatic representation in the US. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Diplomatic representation from the US. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- International organization participation. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Independence. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- National holiday. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Flag. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- National symbol(s). Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- National color(s). Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- National anthem(s). Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- National heritage. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Government - note. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Economic overview. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Real GDP (purchasing power parity). Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Real GDP growth rate. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Real GDP per capita. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- GDP (official exchange rate). Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Values agree within the screening tolerance, but independence of underlying inputs has not been established. World Bank: 6,323,716,355.05 current US dollars (2024). Reference: 6,563,000,000 current US dollars (2024). Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- GDP. GDP: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Values agree within the screening tolerance, but independence of underlying inputs has not been established. World Bank: 6,323,716,355.05 current US dollars (2024). Reference: 6,563,000,000 current US dollars (2024). ↩
- Inflation rate (consumer prices). Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- GDP - composition, by sector of origin. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- GDP - composition, by end use. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Agricultural products. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Industries. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Labor force. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Unemployment rate. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Youth unemployment rate (ages 15-24). Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Remittances. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Current account balance. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Exports. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Exports - partners. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Exports - commodities. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Imports. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Imports - partners. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Imports - commodities. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Exchange rates. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Electricity access. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Electricity. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Electricity generation sources. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Coal. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Petroleum. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Telephones - fixed lines. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Telephones - mobile cellular. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Broadcast media. Reference edition; observation: 2019. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Internet country code. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Internet users. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Broadband - fixed subscriptions. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Civil aircraft registration country code prefix. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Airports. Reference edition; observation: 2025. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Merchant marine. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Ports. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Military and security forces. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Military - note. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 08:19:58 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Real GDP growth. Real GDP growth: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Gross domestic product is the total income earned through the production of goods and services in an economic territory during an accounting period. It can be measured in three different ways: using either the expenditure approach, the income approach, or the production approach. This indicator denotes the percentage change over each previous year of the constant price (base year 2015) series in United States dollars. Source metadata: https://api.worldbank.org/v2/indicator/NY.GDP.MKTP.KD.ZG?format=json ↩
- Unemployment (modeled ILO estimate). Unemployment (modeled ILO estimate): observation 2025; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Unemployment refers to the share of the labor force that is without work but available for and seeking employment. The ILO modeled estimate is not necessarily directly comparable with national unemployment measures. Source metadata: https://api.worldbank.org/v2/indicator/SL.UEM.TOTL.ZS?format=json ↩
- Access to electricity. Access to electricity: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Access to electricity is the percentage of population with access to electricity. Electrification data are collected from industry, national surveys and international sources. Source metadata: https://api.worldbank.org/v2/indicator/EG.ELC.ACCS.ZS?format=json ↩
- Renewable energy share of total final energy consumption. Renewable energy share of total final energy consumption: observation 2022; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Renewable energy consumption is the share of renewable energy in total final energy consumption. Source metadata: https://api.worldbank.org/v2/indicator/EG.FEC.RNEW.ZS?format=json ↩
- Individuals using the internet. Individuals using the internet: observation 2017; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Internet users are individuals who have used the Internet (from any location) in the last 3 months. The Internet can be used via a computer, mobile phone, personal digital assistant, games machine, digital TV etc. Source metadata: https://api.worldbank.org/v2/indicator/IT.NET.USER.ZS?format=json ↩
- Physicians. Physicians: observation 2000; checked 2026-10-29; primary source checked. World Bank World Development Indicators. Primary source checked 2026-10-29T20:25:24.997Z. provider release 2026-10-08. source organization Global Health Workforce Statistics, World Health Organization (WHO); Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD); Country data. definition Physicians (per 1,000 people). Original provider-reported country/economy series; unchanged historical boundaries are not asserted. Checked original WDI publication and metadata, not independent corroboration. ↩