Sub-Saharan Africa / COM
Comoros

ⓘ
2021 Factbook flag mirror; image identity has not been individually audited. Source.
Last updated: October 29, 2026

Map image could not be loaded. Open source image.
ⓘ
CIA World Factbook map, February 2021 media edition. Identity reviewed; current boundaries have not been audited. visual contact sheet or original identity check; does not verify current boundaries Boundaries, place names and designations may be dated or disputed; original annotations retained. SHA-256: 870bc966b7fdf09b7135f8071ff09e6fcc298606177d384f186a880afb26be03. Provenance and inspection record.ⓘ
World Bank directory coordinates; approximate location, not a country center. Coordinate reference date is not supplied by the directory. Natural Earth 1:110m land (2022 source); simplified coastline, no political borders. Map source. Land SVG SHA-256: CF26056A39DC0A5B02F65704E279DFA86E77539A8387D0B2C92F907A67739E5E.Introduction
Background:1
For centuries prior to colonization in the 19th century, the Comoros archipelago in the Indian Ocean served as a key node in maritime trade networks that connected the Middle East, India, and eastern African regions. Composed of the islands of Anjouan, Mayotte, Moheli, and Grande Comore, Comoros spent most of the 20th century as a colonial outpost until it declared independence from France on 6 July 1975. Residents of Mayotte, however, voted to remain in France, and the French Government has since classified it as a French Overseas Department.
Since independence, Comoros has weathered approximately 20 successful and attempted coups, mostly between 1975 and 2000, resulting in prolonged political instability and stunted economic development. In 2002, President AZALI Assoumani became the first elected president following the completion of the Fomboni Accords, in which the islands of Grande Comore, Anjouan, and Moheli agreed to rotate the presidency among the islands every five years. This power-sharing agreement also included provisions allowing each island to maintain its local government. In 2007, Mohamed BACAR effected Anjouan's de-facto secession from the Union of the Comoros, refusing to step down when Comoros' other islands held legitimate elections. The African Union (AU) initially attempted to resolve the political crisis with sanctions and a naval blockade of Anjouan, but in 2008, the AU and Comoran soldiers seized the island. The island's inhabitants generally welcomed the move. In 2011, Ikililou DHOININE won the presidency in peaceful elections widely deemed to be free and fair. In closely contested elections in 2016, AZALI won a second term, when the rotating presidency returned to Grande Comore. In 2018, a referendum -- which the opposition parties boycotted -- approved a new constitution that extended presidential term limits and abolished the requirement for the presidency to rotate between the three main islands. AZALI formed a new government later that year, and he subsequently ran and was reelected in 2019. AZALI was reelected again in January 2024 in an election that the opposition disputed but the Supreme Court validated.
Geography
Location:2
Southern Africa, group of islands at the northern mouth of the Mozambique Channel, about two-thirds of the way between northern Madagascar and northern Mozambique
Geographic coordinates:3
12 10 S, 44 15 E
Map references:4
Africa
Area:5
Area - comparative:6
slightly more than 12 times the size of Washington, D.C.
Land boundaries:7
Coastline:8
340 km
Maritime claims:9
Climate:10
tropical marine; rainy season (November to May)
Terrain:11
volcanic islands, interiors vary from steep mountains to low hills
Elevation:12
Natural resources:13
fish
Land use:14
Irrigated land:15
1.3 sq km (2012)
Population distribution:16
the capital city of Maroni, on the western side of the island of Grande Comore, is the country's largest city; however, Anjouan is the most densely populated of the three islands that comprise Comoros, as shown in this population distribution map
Natural hazards:17
cyclones possible during rainy season (December to April); volcanic activity on Grand Comore
Geography - note:18
important location at northern end of Mozambique Channel; the only Arab League country that lies entirely in the Southern Hemisphere
People and Society
Population:19
Population: 882,847 people (2025)
Nationality:21
Ethnic groups:22
Antalote, Cafre, Makoa, Oimatsaha, Sakalava
Languages:23
Arabic (official), French (official), Shikomoro (official; similar to Swahili), Comorian
Religions:24
Muslim 98.1% (overwhelmingly Sunni Muslim, small Shia Muslim and Ahmadiyya Muslim populations), ethnic religionist 1.1%, Christian 0.6%, other 0.3% (2020 est.)
Age structure:25
Dependency ratios:26
Median age:27
Population growth rate:28
Population growth rate: 1.85 % annually (2025)
1.3% (2024 est.)
Birth rate:30
Crude birth rate: 28.23 births per 1,000 people (2024)
21.6 births/1,000 population (2024 est.)
Death rate:32
Crude death rate: 7.12 deaths per 1,000 people (2024)
6.4 deaths/1,000 population (2024 est.)
Net migration rate:34
-2.2 migrant(s)/1,000 population (2024 est.)
Population distribution:35
the capital city of Maroni, on the western side of the island of Grande Comore, is the country's largest city; however, Anjouan is the most densely populated of the three islands that comprise Comoros, as shown in this population distribution map
Urbanization:36
Urban population: 33.94 % of population (2025)
Major urban areas - population:38
62,000 MORONI (capital) (2018)
Sex ratio:39
Mother's mean age at first birth:40
23 years (2012 est.)
Maternal mortality ratio:41
Maternal mortality ratio: 179 deaths per 100,000 live births (2023)
179 deaths/100,000 live births (2023 est.)
Infant mortality rate:43
Infant mortality rate: 35 deaths per 1,000 live births (2024)
Life expectancy at birth:45
Life expectancy at birth: 67.02 years (2024)
Total fertility rate:47
Total fertility rate: 3.82 births per woman (2024)
2.61 children born/woman (2024 est.)
Gross reproduction rate:49
1.28 (2024 est.)
Drinking water source:50
At least basic drinking water services: 85.05 % of population (2024)
Health expenditure:52
Current health expenditure: 6.55 % of GDP (2023)
Physician density:54
Physicians: 0.42 per 1,000 people (2022)
0.42 physicians/1,000 population (2022)
Obesity - adult prevalence rate:56
7.8% (2016)
Alcohol consumption per capita:57
Tobacco use:58
Children under the age of 5 years underweight:59
9.1% (2022 est.)
Currently married women (ages 15-49):60
61.2% (2023 est.)
Child marriage:61
Education expenditure:62
Government education expenditure: 2.34 % of GDP (2023)
Literacy:64
Adult literacy rate: 75.62 % of people aged 15 and over (2021)
Environment
Environmental issues:66
deforestation; soil degradation and erosion from forest loss and crop cultivation on slopes without proper terracing; silting of coral reefs
International environmental agreements:67
Climate:68
tropical marine; rainy season (November to May)
Land use:69
Urbanization:70
Carbon dioxide emissions:71
Particulate matter emissions:72
14.5 micrograms per cubic meter (2019 est.)
Waste and recycling:73
Total water withdrawal:74
Total renewable water resources:75
1.2 billion cubic meters (2022 est.)
Government
Country name:76
Government type:77
federal presidential republic
Capital:78
Administrative divisions:79
3 islands; Anjouan (Ndzuwani), Grande Comore (N'gazidja), Moheli (Mwali)
Legal system:80
mixed legal system of Islamic religious law, the French civil code of 1975, and customary law
Constitution:81
International law organization participation:82
has not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; accepts ICCt jurisdiction
Citizenship:83
Suffrage:84
18 years of age; universal
Executive branch:85
Legislative branch:86
note: opposition parties, which claimed there was "gross fraud" during the most recent election, boycotted the elections in 2020 and 2025
Judicial branch:87
Political parties:88
Convention for the Renewal of the Comoros or CRC
Juwa Party (Parti Juwa) or PJ
Orange Party (2020)
Diplomatic representation in the US:89
Diplomatic representation from the US:90
International organization participation:91
ACP, AfDB, AMF, AOSIS, AU, CAEU (candidates), COMESA, FAO, FZ, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICCt, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, IMSO, InOC, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ITSO, ITU, ITUC (NGOs), LAS, MIGA, NAM, OIC, OIF, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO (observer)
Independence:92
6 July 1975 (from France)
National holiday:93
Independence Day, 6 July (1975)
Flag:94
National symbol(s):95
four five-pointed stars and crescent moon
National color(s):96
green, white
National coat of arms:97
the coat of arms is in the national colors of green and white; was adopted in 1978; the crescent and stars represent Islam, with the four stars also symbolizing the archipelago’s four main islands: Grande Comore, Mohéli, Anjouan, and Mayotte (the last of which is a French department claimed by Comoros); above and below the sun’s rays is the name of the nation written in French and Arabic; two olive branches, representing peace, are connected by a banner with the national motto in French, which translates as "Unity, Solidarity, Development"
National anthem(s):98
Economy
Economic overview:99
small trade-based island economy; declining remittances; new structural and fiscal reforms; adverse cyclone and COVID-19 impacts; manageable debts; fragile liquidity environment; large foreign direct investment; state-owned enterprises suffering
Real GDP (purchasing power parity):100
$3.092 billion (2024 est.)
$2.99 billion (2023 est.)
$2.901 billion (2022 est.)
Real GDP growth rate:101
3.4% (2024 est.)
3.1% (2023 est.)
2.8% (2022 est.)
Real GDP per capita:102
GDP (official exchange rate):103
GDP: 1,814,920,856.27 current US dollars (2025)
$1.546 billion (2024 est.)
Inflation rate (consumer prices):105
GDP - composition, by sector of origin:106
GDP - composition, by end use:107
Agricultural products:108
bananas, coconuts, cassava, yams, maize, taro, milk, tomatoes, sweet potatoes, pulses (2023)
Industries:109
fishing, tourism, perfume distillation
Industrial production growth rate:110
3.8% (2024 est.)
Labor force:111
276,400 (2024 est.)
Unemployment rate:112
Youth unemployment rate (ages 15-24):113
Population below poverty line:114
44.8% (2020 est.)
Remittances:115
21.4% of GDP (2023 est.)
22% of GDP (2022 est.)
22.2% of GDP (2021 est.)
Budget:116
Public debt:117
27.7% of GDP (2016 est.)
Current account balance:118
-$24.621 million (2023 est.)
-$5.248 million (2022 est.)
-$4.076 million (2021 est.)
Exports:119
$148.455 million (2023 est.)
$166.032 million (2022 est.)
$128.331 million (2021 est.)
Exports - partners:120
Indonesia 25%, India 23%, Turkey 16%, UAE 11%, USA 3% (2023)
Exports - commodities:121
cloves, ships, essential oils, vanilla, scrap iron (2023)
Imports:122
$504.036 million (2023 est.)
$480.268 million (2022 est.)
$415.965 million (2021 est.)
Imports - partners:123
China 24%, UAE 21%, Tanzania 12%, France 7%, India 6% (2023)
Imports - commodities:124
refined petroleum, poultry, rice, flavored water, additive manufacturing machines (2023)
Reserves of foreign exchange and gold:125
$323.946 million (2024 est.)
$324.561 million (2023 est.)
$283.746 million (2022 est.)
Debt - external:126
$267.652 million (2023 est.)
Exchange rates:127
454.524 (2024 est.)
454.991 (2023 est.)
467.184 (2022 est.)
415.956 (2021 est.)
430.721 (2020 est.)
Energy
Electricity access:128
Electricity:129
Electricity generation sources:130
Coal:131
Petroleum:132
Energy consumption per capita:133
Communications
Telephones - fixed lines:134
Telephones - mobile cellular:135
Broadcast media:136
national state-owned TV station and a TV station run by Anjouan regional government; national state-owned radio; regional governments on the islands of Grande Comore and Anjouan each operate a radio station; a few independent and small community radio stations operate on the islands of Grande Comore and Moheli, and these two islands have access to Mayotte Radio and French TV
Internet country code:137
.km
Internet users:138
Broadband - fixed subscriptions:139
Transportation
Civil aircraft registration country code prefix:140
D6
Airports:141
3 (2025)
Merchant marine:142
Ports:143
Military and Security
Military and security forces:144
National Army for Development (l'Armee Nationale de Developpement, AND): Comoran Defense Force (Force Comorienne de Defense or FCD; includes Comoran National Gendarmerie); Ministry of Interior: Coast Guard, Federal Police, National Directorate of Territorial Safety (customs and immigration) (2024)
Military and security service personnel strengths:145
estimated 600 Defense Force; estimated 500 Federal Police (2023)
Military equipment inventories and acquisitions:146
the AND is lightly armed and equipped with small arms and a few light aircraft (2023)
Military service age and obligation:147
18-25 years of age for 2-year voluntary military service for men and women; no conscription (2021)
Military - note:148
the focus for the security forces is search and rescue operations and maintaining internal security; a defense treaty with France provides naval resources for the protection of territorial waters, training of Comoran military personnel, and air surveillance; France maintains a small maritime base and a Foreign Legion contingent on neighboring Mayotte (2024)
Transnational Issues
Refugees and internally displaced persons:149
Additional observations
- Real GDP growth150
- 3.75 % annual change (2025)
- Consumer price inflation151
- 3.25 % annual change (2025)
- Unemployment (modeled ILO estimate)152
- 3.82 % of labor force (2025)
- Access to electricity153
- 91.7 % of population (2024)
- Renewable energy share of total final energy consumption154
- 39.3 % (2022)
- Individuals using the internet155
- 32.52 % of population (2024)
- At least basic sanitation services156
- 57.22 % of population (2024)
Notes & sources
- Background. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Location. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Geographic coordinates. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Map references. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Area. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Surface area: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; held. World Bank World Development Indicators. Held for review: 1,869.7 square kilometers (2024). Substantial difference from the historical archived total; geographic coverage and measurement definitions remain unresolved. The archive field does not state an observation year, so this does not establish a same-year conflict or numerical error. World Bank reported surface area: Observation year 2024; value 1869.7 square kilometers.. Historical archive total area: Archived total 2235 square kilometers; observation year not stated. Profile update time is not the field observation date.. The archived total area has no reference year and territorial coverage may differ from World Bank surface area. World Bank: 1,869.7 square kilometers (2024). Reference: 2,235 square kilometers. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Area - comparative. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Land boundaries. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Coastline. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Maritime claims. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Climate. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Terrain. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Elevation. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Natural resources. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Land use. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Irrigated land. Reference edition; observation: 2012. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Population distribution. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Natural hazards. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Geography - note. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Population. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Different reference years; no numerical agreement is asserted. World Bank: 882,847 people (2025). Reference: 900,141 people (2024). Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Population. Population: observation 2025; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Different reference years; no numerical agreement is asserted. World Bank: 882,847 people (2025). Reference: 900,141 people (2024). ↩
- Nationality. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Ethnic groups. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Languages. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Religions. Reference edition; observation: 2020 est.. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Age structure. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Dependency ratios. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Median age. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Population growth rate. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Population growth rate. Population growth rate: observation 2025; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Birth rate. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Crude birth rate. Crude birth rate: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Death rate. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Crude death rate. Crude death rate: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Net migration rate. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Population distribution. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Urbanization. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Urban population. Urban population: observation 2025; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Major urban areas - population. Reference edition; observation: 2018. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Sex ratio. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Mother's mean age at first birth. Reference edition; observation: 2012. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Maternal mortality ratio. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Maternal mortality ratio. Maternal mortality ratio: observation 2023; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Infant mortality rate. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Infant mortality rate. Infant mortality rate: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Life expectancy at birth. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Life expectancy at birth. Life expectancy at birth: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Total fertility rate. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Total fertility rate. Total fertility rate: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Gross reproduction rate. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Drinking water source. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- At least basic drinking water services. At least basic drinking water services: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. This separately sourced basic-service observation is shown alongside the reference edition’s improved/unimproved categories. It does not replace those category totals. ↩
- Health expenditure. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Current health expenditure. Current health expenditure: observation 2023; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Physician density. Reference edition; observation: 2022. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Physicians. Physicians: observation 2022; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Obesity - adult prevalence rate. Reference edition; observation: 2016. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Alcohol consumption per capita. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Tobacco use. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Children under the age of 5 years underweight. Reference edition; observation: 2022. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Currently married women (ages 15-49). Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Child marriage. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Education expenditure. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Government education expenditure. Government education expenditure: observation 2023; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Literacy. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Adult literacy rate. Adult literacy rate: observation 2021; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩
- Environmental issues. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- International environmental agreements. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Climate. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Land use. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Urbanization. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Carbon dioxide emissions. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Particulate matter emissions. Reference edition; observation: 2019. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Waste and recycling. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Total water withdrawal. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Total renewable water resources. Reference edition; observation: 2022. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Country name. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Government type. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Capital. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Administrative divisions. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Legal system. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Constitution. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- International law organization participation. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Citizenship. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Suffrage. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Executive branch. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Legislative branch. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Judicial branch. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Political parties. Reference edition; observation: 2020. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Diplomatic representation in the US. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Diplomatic representation from the US. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- International organization participation. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Independence. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- National holiday. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Flag. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- National symbol(s). Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- National color(s). Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- National coat of arms. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- National anthem(s). Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Economic overview. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Real GDP (purchasing power parity). Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Real GDP growth rate. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Real GDP per capita. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- GDP (official exchange rate). Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Different reference years; no numerical agreement is asserted. World Bank: 1,814,920,856.27 current US dollars (2025). Reference: 1,546,000,000 current US dollars (2024). Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- GDP. GDP: observation 2025; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Different reference years; no numerical agreement is asserted. World Bank: 1,814,920,856.27 current US dollars (2025). Reference: 1,546,000,000 current US dollars (2024). ↩
- Inflation rate (consumer prices). Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- GDP - composition, by sector of origin. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- GDP - composition, by end use. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Agricultural products. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Industries. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Industrial production growth rate. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Labor force. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Unemployment rate. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Youth unemployment rate (ages 15-24). Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Population below poverty line. Reference edition; observation: 2020. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Remittances. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Budget. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Public debt. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Current account balance. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Exports. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Exports - partners. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Exports - commodities. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Imports. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Imports - partners. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Imports - commodities. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Reserves of foreign exchange and gold. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Debt - external. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Exchange rates. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Electricity access. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Electricity. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Electricity generation sources. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Coal. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Petroleum. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Energy consumption per capita. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Telephones - fixed lines. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Telephones - mobile cellular. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Broadcast media. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Internet country code. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Internet users. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Broadband - fixed subscriptions. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Civil aircraft registration country code prefix. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Airports. Reference edition; observation: 2025. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Merchant marine. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Ports. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Military and security forces. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Military and security service personnel strengths. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Military equipment inventories and acquisitions. Reference edition; observation: 2023. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Military service age and obligation. Reference edition; observation: 2021. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Military - note. Reference edition; observation: 2024. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Refugees and internally displaced persons. Reference edition; observation: dates as stated in text. Field last updated: not supplied; profile fallback: 2025-12-04 13:07:32 -0500 (not a field revision date); needs review. Reference source. Edition last checked 2026-10-29 (retrieval only). ↩
- Real GDP growth. Real GDP growth: observation 2025; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Gross domestic product is the total income earned through the production of goods and services in an economic territory during an accounting period. It can be measured in three different ways: using either the expenditure approach, the income approach, or the production approach. This indicator denotes the percentage change over each previous year of the constant price (base year 2015) series in United States dollars. Source metadata: https://api.worldbank.org/v2/indicator/NY.GDP.MKTP.KD.ZG?format=json ↩
- Consumer price inflation. Consumer price inflation: observation 2025; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Inflation as measured by the consumer price index reflects the annual percentage change in the cost to the average consumer of acquiring a basket of goods and services that may be fixed or changed at specified intervals, such as yearly. Source metadata: https://api.worldbank.org/v2/indicator/FP.CPI.TOTL.ZG?format=json ↩
- Unemployment (modeled ILO estimate). Unemployment (modeled ILO estimate): observation 2025; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Unemployment refers to the share of the labor force that is without work but available for and seeking employment. The ILO modeled estimate is not necessarily directly comparable with national unemployment measures. Source metadata: https://api.worldbank.org/v2/indicator/SL.UEM.TOTL.ZS?format=json ↩
- Access to electricity. Access to electricity: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Access to electricity is the percentage of population with access to electricity. Electrification data are collected from industry, national surveys and international sources. Source metadata: https://api.worldbank.org/v2/indicator/EG.ELC.ACCS.ZS?format=json ↩
- Renewable energy share of total final energy consumption. Renewable energy share of total final energy consumption: observation 2022; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Renewable energy consumption is the share of renewable energy in total final energy consumption. Source metadata: https://api.worldbank.org/v2/indicator/EG.FEC.RNEW.ZS?format=json ↩
- Individuals using the internet. Individuals using the internet: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Internet users are individuals who have used the Internet (from any location) in the last 3 months. The Internet can be used via a computer, mobile phone, personal digital assistant, games machine, digital TV etc. Source metadata: https://api.worldbank.org/v2/indicator/IT.NET.USER.ZS?format=json ↩
- At least basic sanitation services. At least basic sanitation services: observation 2024; checked 2026-10-29; single source. World Bank World Development Indicators. Latest available World Bank series in 2020–2026; reference year is not retrieval year. May be modeled or revised; differing definitions and geography require review. No independent crosscheck; do not silently replace archived Factbook. ↩